Lemon, passionfruit and ricotta Anzac tart

A few weeks ago, VERY new to blogging, I saw the theme for the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop this month was lemons. Lemons….gah how could I resist?!  Anything lemon-y is my thing. You know how you meet a certain friend for coffee and they predictably order the friand, hold the cream? I’m the one who always orders the citrus tart. Or the Lemon meringue pie… most definitely with cream. Predictable yes, but loyal to my citrus love.
I was so excited to join the blog hop for the first time this month, but self doubt kept creeping in. Then all the ‘yummy’ things were already made…I’d decided to give it a miss this month and put it out of my mind. Instead, I started searching for an Anzac recipe I could make for next week.
I stumbled across an Anzac Tart on the CSR sugar website – not only will it be a perfect Anzac Day treat, but it contains Lemon! It was also a good opportunity for me to use some of the passionfruits my mum had been collecting from her vine. The clouds opened, the sun shined through and the Universe aligned….behold, I give you the Lemon, passionfruit and ricotta Anzac Tart!

 

I adapted the recipe slightly to create 8 individual tarts rather than one large one. It’s a little more work to pack the tart tins properly with the Anzac base, but they look gorgeous.
Lemon, passionfruit and ricotta Anzac tart
Adapted from CSR sugar recipes
Ingredients
Base
1 cup plain flour
1 cup desiccated coconut
1/2 cup instant oats
100 g butter
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1 Tablespoon Golden syrup
Filling
1/3 cup lemon juice
2 teaspoon lemon rind
375g ricotta
1/3 cup natural yoghurt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup castor sugar
2 passionfruit
1. Preheat oven to 180°C for conventional or 160°C for fan forced oven.
2. Base: sift flour into a bowl and add coconut and oats. Combine butter, brown sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan and stir over a low heat until butter has melted. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture, and pour butter mixture into flour mixture and stir until well combined.
3. Press mixture into base and sides of 8 x 12cm round loose-bottom tart pans. Bake for 10 minutes, then leave to cool.
4. Filling: add lemon juice, rind, ricotta, yoghurt, eggs, caster sugar and passionfruit in a bowl. Whisk gently to combine. Pour into tart cases and bake for 30 minutes. Cool in pan, then refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight. Serve drizzled with cream and golden syrup.
Notes
* Use low-fat ricotta and yoghurt for a slightly healthier option. I also used the natural yoghurt to serve rather than cream for a lighter result – the tart is fairly rich and sweet on its own!

 

This tart has that lovely crunchy Anzac biscuity-base, and the sweet Lemon filling is dotted with little bursts of sunshiny passionfruit seeds. They are the perfect size to share with a friend for an Anzac morning tea, or keep it all to yourself!
I love that this Sweet Adventures Blog Hop has given me a whole new arsenal of Lemon recipes to try…there are some amazing looking lemon creations offered up by some very talented bloggers this month, and I’m so excited to be part of it!
Pop on over to le Delicieux to check out all the other fantastic Sweet Adventures Blog Hop entries!

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon, passionfruit and ricotta Anzac tart

Leave a comment